Monday, 25 July 2022

 

Dear Student

We hope that you and yours are keeping well at this time. Please below an update on the academic calendar for 2022-2023.

 

Download PDF >>

 

 

Start Dates for Semester 1/Term 1 2022-2023

Please see the following table for Semester 1/Term 1 start dates across MTU:

 

Student Cohort

Semester 1/Term 1 Start Date

Full-time undergraduate programmes

1st year

Mon 26 Sept. 

all other years

Mon 12 Sept.

Full-time taught postgraduate programmes

Mon 12 Sept. 

Part-time programmes

(undergraduate; taught postgraduate)

Mon 12 Sept.

Craft Apprenticeships (SOLAS)

Mon 19 Sept.

MTU CSM Conservatoire Provision

Mon 5 Sept.

 

The later start date for 1st years of full-time undergraduate programmes is due to the delayed timelines for the Leaving Certificate 2022 Results and CAO 2022 offers

 

Reading/Independent Learning Week 

Week commencing Monday 31st October.

 

 

Autumn 2022 Conferrings

MTU Kerry Campuses  Fri 28 Oct. 
MTU Bishopstown Wed 2 Nov to Fri 4 Nov inclusive 
MTU CSM Thurs 27 Oct @11am
MTU-UCC Joint Conferring  Fri 14 Oct @3:30pm, at UCC 
   

 

 

Semester 1 Assessment, 2022-2023

Continuing years of full-time undergraduate programmes, taught postgraduate programmes, and part-time taught programmes

The final day of lectures for continuing years of full-time undergraduate programmes, taught postgraduate programmes, and part-time taught programmes is Friday 9th December.

The Semester 1 Examination Session for these cohorts will run in weeks commencing Monday 12th December and Monday 19th December.

 

  • Kerry Campuses: Semester 1 Examinations will be scheduled during the period Thursday 15th December to Friday 23rd December inclusive, including Saturday 17th December. More details will be issued locally. Students should take this into account when planning holiday arrangements.
  • Cork Campuses: Start date for Semester 1 Examinations will be confirmed in due course. We anticipate that the end-of-semester examinations will start midway through week commencing Monday 12th December. Examinations will also be scheduled on Saturday 17th December. Final day of Semester 1 examinations is Thursday 22nd December. More details will be issued locally. Students should take this into account when planning holiday arrangements.

 

First year of full-time undergraduate programmes only

Due to the delayed Semester 1 start date for 1st years, there will be a 100% CA approach for Semester 1 assessment. This means that assessment will be distributed over the semester, including during the week Monday 19th December to Friday 23rd December. First year students should take this into account when planning holiday arrangements.

 

 

Semester 2 2022-2023

Please see below for key Semester 2 dates in MTU.

 

 

MTU Kerry

MTU Bishopstown

MTU CCAD

NMCI

MTU CSM

Intersemester Break

 

w.c.  Mon. 16 Jan.

 

Semester 2 start date

Mon. 16 Jan. (Mon 09 Jan. for desemesterised departments)

Mon. 23 Jan.

Mon. 16 Jan.

Semester 2 Reading Week

w.c. Mon. 27 Feb.

 

 

 

 

Semester 2 Midterm Break

 

 

 

 

w.c. Mon. 13 Feb.

Easter Break

w/c Mon. 3 Apr and Mon. 10 April

 

 

The Semester 2 calendar for each of the campuses will run to the established approved framework, with an examination period included towards semester end, for all years/cohorts. 

 

 

Craft Apprenticeships 

The following has been confirmed by SOLAS:  

 

Autumn Term

11 Week Blocks  10 Week Blocks
Start Date: 19/09/22 (Monday) 
Finish Date: 02/12/22 (Friday) 

Start Date: 19/09/22 (Monday) 
Finish Date: 25/11/22 (Friday) 
 

 

Spring Term

11 Week Blocks  10 Week Blocks
Start Date: 03/01/23 (Tuesday) 
Finish Date: 16/03/23 (Thursday) 

Start Date: 03/01/23 (Tuesday) 
Finish Date: 10/03/23 (Friday) 
 

 

Summer Term

11 Week Blocks  10 Week Blocks
Start Date: 03/04/23 (Monday) 
Finish Date: 16/06/23 (Friday) 

Start Date: 03/04/23 (Monday) 
Finish Date: 09/06/23 (Friday) 
 

 

 

Conservatoire Provision (MTU CSM)

Lessons commence 


Mon 5 Sept 

Midterm

w/c Mon 31 Oct  

Lessons end

Thurs 22 Dec 

Lessons resume

Mon 9 Jan  

Midterm

w/c Mon 13 Feb 

Easter break

w/c Mon 3 Apr and Mon 10 Apr  

Final week of lessons 

w/c Mon 5 Jun 

 

Best regards,

Brendan and Áine

 


Dr Áine Ní Shé
Registrar & Vice President for Academic Affairs   


Dr Brendan O'Donnell
Vice President Academic Affairs & Registrar

 

 

Get Started
Keep up to date

CAO Applicants

Please sign up if you would like to receive updates regarding our events for CAO applicants.